Two Months In, One Week Down

I spent almost eight full weeks looking for a place to live in Madrid. I assumed that having a secure base would allow me to finally establish a more permanent routine of learning, earning, and burning money & free time doing fun things in the capital of an incredible country. But instead I spent three out of four of my working days this week in bed. And Friday  and  Saturday too for good measure.

Faced with sudden change, in both a decisively less than ideal living space, and a drop in the temperature, not to mention the fact that I don’t actually have much money at all, my brain decided that it really didn’t want to think this week. And I’ve hated it.

This baffles me. Believe it or not, I’ve grown to adore my job as a Language Assistant. I’m sure one day I’ll write an entire blog post to describe what it is I’m supposed to be doing in Madrid… it must be very odd for this to be first one I’ve done, more than two months into my Year Abroad.

For two months the refrain in my head was “Just find a place, then we can work on the other stuff.” I neglected a few essential things because of that refrain, but despite it I couldn’t not form habits. Temporary habits, that was all they were supposed to be – once I found a place I could start over. It wasn’t going to be permanent, I said, as I added videos to my Watch Later playlist on YouTube, and ploughed through hours of the content week-on-week. Just until I got a place.

It’s not going to be permanent, I said, as I made new friends who all spoke English, yet rarely made efforts to practice Spanish outside of a few colleagues in school, and the everyday “Café sólo por favor”. Just until I got a place.

It won’t be permanent, I tell myself, as I pour callous liberal teachings and empathy into the heads of my students. Just until I get a place.

It wouldn’t be permanent, I hoped, as I crushed the hearts of my enemies to give my own a reason to continue beating. Just until I I got a place.

I’m just kidding, I hardly ever get café sólo, and I never say please.

Wait, where was I going with this?

I think the important thing is that even two months in, I am still nowhere near ready for this. I still need to take things slow. I’m not trying to excuse pulling a sickie on a job that I love, but I’m trying to find a reason why this happened. Because it’s been one week since I moved in, and it’s been fairly down.

I need to take the hours of sleep that I’ve overindulged in this week, and put them towards some form of recovery. I need a routine in my life that supports everything that I want to do. I needed a week of sleep to realise how much I missed being awake.

That all reads very well. Although the much scarier truth is that I have no idea what to do to stop this.


AND NOW, FOR NO PARTICULAR REASON, EN ESPAÑOL!

Pasaba casi ocho semanas en Madrid buscando un sitio propio para vivir. La idea fue que si tuviera un base seguro podría establecer una rutina más permanente para aprender, ganar dinero, y gastar dinero y tiempo, haciendo actividades divertidas en la capital  de un país increíble. En lugar de eso he pasado tres días de mi semana laboral por la cama. Y  Viernes y Sábado también, por buena medida.

Mi cerebro hizo frente a un cambio súbito, en una vivienda menos de ideal y una caida de temperatura, por no hablar del hecho que no tengo mucho dinero de verdad, y decidió que no quería pensar o hacer de nada esta semana, muchas gracias. Y lo he odiado.

Esto me confunde. Lo creas o no lo creas, mi trabajo de Auxiliar de conversación ha empezado a encantarme. Estoy seguro que un día escribiré un blog entero para describir que hago aquí en Madrid. Debe ser muy extraño que esto es el primer que he hecho, cuando llevo más de dos meses de mi año en el extranjero.

Por dos meses había un refrán en mi cabeza: “Busque un sitio, entonces pueda hacer todo más.” A causa de ese, no cumplí con algunas cosas imprescindibles, pero a pesar de lo no podía no formar hábitos. Hábitos temporales sólo – cuando encontré un sitio de vivir podría volver a empezar. Insistí que no fue a ir a ser permanente, mientras que añadía vídeos a la lista de Ver Más Tarde de YouTube, y se abría paso entre horas de contenido semana por semana. Sólo hasta cogí un sitio para vivir.

Dije que no fue ir a ser permanente, mientras que conocí nuevos amigos, todos hablantes de inglés, sin embargo no hici esfuerzos para practicar Español rara vez fuera del instituto y el dicho cotidiano “Café sólo por favor”. Justo hasta cogí un sitio para vivir.

Me digo a mi mismo “no será permanente”, cómo enseño instrucciones insensibles y empatía a mis estudiantes. Sólo hasta cojo un sitio de vivir.

No sería permanente, esperaba, mientras que destruía los corazones de mis enemigos para dar mi propio una razón de seguir latiendo.

Sólo estoy bromeando, Apenas de pido café sólo, y no digo ‘por favor’ nunca.

Espera, ¿por dónde me fui con esto?

Creo que lo importante es que aún dos meses de esta experiencia, todavía no estoy listo por poco. Todavía tengo que tomarlo lente, por lo peor esta vez. No intento de hacer excusas por saltarme de un trabajo que me encanta, pero intento de entender la razón por qué esto me occurió. Porque llevo una semana de vivir en este piso, y sintía bastante depresivo.

Necesito coger las horas de sueño que me he atiborrado, y recolocarlas en un forma de recuperación. Necesito un horario en mi vida que me soporta y que quiero hacer. Tal vez necesitaba una semana de sueño para entender tanto prefiero ser despierto.

Todo de eso lee muy bien. Aunque la verdad mucho más alarmante es que no tengo ningún idea de que puedo hacer para pararlo.

Leave a Reply

